Christopher Smith

Winston Wins Heisman; McCarron Second

Created on Dec. 14, 2013 9:30 PM EST

Saturday's Heisman Trophy ceremony made official what we've known for more than a week: Jameis Winston is the 2013 winner.

The Florida State quarterback led the Seminoles to a 13-0 season and a spot in the BCS national championship game while throwing for 3,820 yards and 38 touchdowns.

"This is the first time I've been speechless in a long time," Winston told Chris Fowler on ESPN. "When you get to those moments where you feel like you can't go higher, that's when your success starts dropping. I've always felt like I can get better and better."

Winston earned 2,205 points, winning by the fifth-largest margin of victory in the modern era. Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron (704 points) finished second, followed by Northern Illinois quarterback Jordan Lynch (558 points). Boston College running back Andre Williams, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, Auburn running back Tre Mason, Baylor quarterback Bryce Petty, Fresno State quarterback Derek Carr, Ohio State quarterback Braxton Miller and Arizona running back Ka'Deem Carey also received votes.

Winston's most impressive game came Oct. 19 at Clemson in a showdown between two Top-5 teams. The 6-foot-4, 228-pound freshman crushed the Tigers and by far outperformed senior Tajh Boyd, completing 22-of-34 passes for 444 yards as the Seminoles embarrassed their chief ACC rivals, 51-14. Winston also accounted for 389 total yards and four touchdowns in the ACC championship against Duke.

As players like Marcus Mariota, last year's winner Manziel, Jordan Lynch and AJ McCarron either faded late in the year or suffered crippling losses, it became clear that Winston would win the award barring unforeseen circumstances. Winston faced potential sexual assault charges into December, but the state attorney's office announced that it did not have a strong enough case to prosecute, clearing the only potential roadblock for him to win the award.

FSU faces Auburn on Jan. 5 in the BCS championship, but as the country gets ready to say goodbye to Manziel as a college football player, anticipating he'll enter April's NFL draft, it will turn to Winston to see whether he can become the second player ever to win consecutive Heismans.

First he'll have to survive an offseason sure to be filled with potential pratfalls, as Manziel learned this year. He also seems intent on playing baseball for the Seminoles this spring, telling reporters in New York he wants to be better than Bo Jackson as a two-sport star.

Florida State now claims the oldest Heisman winner (Chris Weinke, 28) and the youngest (Winston, 19). Charlie Ward also won the award as an FSU quarterback in 1993, and was drafted in the NBA and MLB.

Final Heisman Trophy Results

Place Name School First Place Second Place Third Place Points
1. Jameis Winston Florida State 668 84 33 2,205
2. AJ McCarron Alabama 79 162 143 704
3. Jordan Lynch Northern Illinois 40 149 140 558
4. Andre Williams Boston College 29 127 129 470
5. Johnny Manziel Texas A&M 30 103 125 421
6. Tre Mason Auburn 31 121 69 404
7. Bryce Petty Baylor 4 40 35 127
8. Derek Carr Fresno State 6 23 43 107
9. Braxton Miller Ohio State 4 21 37 91
10.  Ka'Deem Carey Arizona 2 14 36 70
Loading ...