Wyoming Cowboys

Wyoming Cowboys

About Wyoming Cowboys

The Wyoming Cowboys football program has been active since 1892 and represents the University of Wyoming. Although they have an all-time losing record, the team have been successful on the field, winning a number of titles. In addition, the program has produced four consensus All-Americans. Their main rivals are the Colorado State Rams, with whom they contest the 'Border War'. The rivalry started in 1899 and since 1968 the winner of the annual series has been awarded the Bronze Boot trophy.

Having competed at small college level during the late 1930s, the program made the step up to university level in 1940 and remained there for several decades. In 1972, the team became a member of NCAA Division I and then finally, in 1978, they moved to NCAA Division I-A. Since 1999, they have competed as part of the Mountain West Conference.

In terms of major success, the Cowboys have won a total of 15 Conference Championships, including seven wins in the Western Athletic Conference. Their most recent victory came in the 1993 season. In 1996, the team became the WAC Pacific Division Champions. Moreover, Wyoming have appeared in 13 bowl games and currently have a 6-7 record. Their last win came in the 2009 New Mexico Bowl, where they overcame the Fresno State Bulldogs.

Some of the team's most notable former players include Jerry Hill, Jim Kiick, Jay Novacek and Mike Dirks. Jerry Hill was named as Wyoming's Football Player of the Century after a fan vote in 1992, while Jay Novacek was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2009.

The team's home games are staged at Jonah Field at War Memorial Stadium, which opened in 1950. The venue is notable for being the highest footbal...