Founded In
Waregem, Belgium

About Zulte-Waregem

Sportvereniging Zulte-Waregem was first established in 1950 under the name Zulte Sportief. The team adopted its current name in 2001, after forming a partnership with KSV Waregem, who had previously played in the top flight. Although the club's head office is based in Zulte, the team's stadium is now located in Waregem and the club is usually considered to be based in Waregem as a result.

Most of the team's biggest achievements fell under the first managerial reign of Francky Dury. During his time in charge, from July 2001 up until June 2010, Dury oversaw multiple promotions through the divisions, led the club to its first major honour, masterminded the Zulte-Waregem's greatest ever performance in the domestic league and enabled the team to qualify for a major European competition for the first time. In December 2011, he was reappointed as manager.

Zulte-Waregem first made it to the top flight of the Belgian league system at the conclusion of the 2004-05 season, where they were crowned Second Division champions. The following season, the club achieved their greatest major success to date, when they won the Belgian Cup. Their route to the final saw them beat Standard Liège in the semi final before triumphing over Excelsior Mouscron to lift the trophy. The team's best ever performance in the top flight came in the 2008-09 season, which saw them finish in 5th place. In 2006-07, they competed in the UEFA Cup, where they emerged from a group contaning Ajax, Espanyol and Sparta Prague before being eliminated in the 3rd round by Newcastle United.

Notable former players include Belgian international midfielder Nathan D'Haemers and the Croatian striker Nikica Jelavić.

The team plays home matches at the Regenboogstadion, or Rainbow Stadium, which previously served as the home ground of KSV Waregem. The stadium has an all-seater capacity of 6,800 and a maximum capacity of 10,200 including standing sections.   

Loading ...