Founded In
Augsburg, Germany

About Augsburg

Football Club Augsburg was founded in 1907 as Fußball-Klub Alemania Augsburg. Between 1921 and 1969, the club went by the name BC Augsburg. The team has spent the vast majority of its history bouncing between the lower tiers of the German league system.

During Nazi rule, the German league system was re-arranged into 16 top flight leagues. During the mid 1930s, Augsburg earned promotion to one of these leagues, the Gauliga Bayern. Following on from the war, discussions of a merger with the town's other major football team, TSV Schwaben, became serious. Eventually, following financial difficulties, the two clubs merged in 1969 to form FC Augsburg. The merger did not last and before long, TSV Schwaben were once again established as an independent club. FC Augsburg retained their name and continued the traditions of BC Augsburg.

The years that followed proved unsuccessful, as the club struggled on the pitch and had difficulty attracting crowds to their matches. During the early 2000s the club was relegated to the fourth tier of German football. After suffering from yet more financial difficulties, a local businessman, Walther Seinsch, took over as the chairman. Seinsch effectively saved the club and provided the financial stability necessary to fight up through the divisions. In 2002, the club earned promotion to the third tier and at the end of the 2005-06 season returned to the second tier for the first time in more than twenty years, having dominated the third division the previous season. In 2009–10 the club put in a strong league performance and reached the semi finals of the DFB Cup before losing to Werder Bremen. Finally, at the end of the 2010-11 season, Augsburg earned promotion to the Bundesliga for the first time.

The most famous player to represent Augsburg over the years was former West German international, Helmut Haller. Born in the local area, Haller had two spells with the club during the 1970s.

Augsburg currently play at the SGL arena, formerly known as the Impuls Arena. The ground has a capacity of 30,660. 

Loading ...