Founded In
Bologna, Italy

About Bologna

Bologna Football Club 1909, commonly known as Bologna, was originally founded in 1909 by Emilio Arnstein. Prior to the outbreak of the First World War, the club spent time in the regional leagues and gained promotion to the northern league before football was suspended.

When football resumed, Bologna began to establish themselves as one of the major forces in Italian football. In 1919–20, the club reached the semi finals of the Northern League and in the following season they finished as runners up. In 1923–24, Bologna were once again runners up before becoming Northern and National League champions in the 1924–25 season. This was followed up with another league win in 1928–29, the final season before Serie A was established.

The 1930s proved to be a golden decade for the club. Back-to-back Serie A wins were achieved in 1935–36 and 1936–37 and then a further league title was added in 1938–39. In addition, Bologna won the Mitropa Cup in 1932 and 1934. Bologna made a promising start to the next decade, winning Serie A once again in 1940–41, although they were unable to build on that success. Although still competing near the top of the league. Bologna became also-rans until 1963–64, when the club won its fifth Serie A title and its seventh Italian title in total. The 70's brought two Coppa Italia wins. There was a convoluted points tedvictory to start the decade in 1969–70 and a penalty shoot out win versus Palermo in 1973–74 which added to the club's trophy haul, although Bologna have so far been unable to replicate the success of the 1930s.

Notable players to represent Bologna include Angelo Schiavio, who scored 109 Serie A goals for the club; Ettore Puricelli; Carlo Reguzzoni; Roberto Baggio and Julio Ricardo Cruz.

Bologna play home matches at the Stadio Renato Dall'Ara, formerly known as the Stadio Littoriale and the Stadio Comunale. The ground currently has a total capacity of 38,279. 

Loading ...