FC Dallas

Founded In
Frisco, Texas, USA

About FC Dallas

Established in 1996 as the Dallas Burn, FC Dallas were one of the ten teams to compete in the inaugural Major League Soccer season. The team's name changed in 2005 to coincide with their move to a new stadium. The re-branding also saw changes to their badge and team strip, moving from a red and black home kit to the current red and white design.

FC Dallas maintain a rivalry with the Houston Dynamo, known as the Texas derby. The two teams compete annually for El Capitán, a replica cannon which is awarded to the winner of their head-to-head series over the season. Dallas also compete with the Chicago Fire for the Brimstone Cup and the connection with Chicago is the team's oldest rivalry.

In 1997, Dallas won the U.S. Open Cup, defeating D.C. United in the final via a penalty shoot out. The club has subsequently reached the final on two more occasions, in 2005 and 2007, but were unsuccessful both times. In 2006, the club won the Western Conference regular season and finished as runners up for the MLS Supporters' Shield. In 2010, after beating Real Salt Lake and Los Angeles Galaxy on route, FC Dallas reached the final of the MLS Cup, where they were eventually beaten by the Colorado Rapids.

Some of the more noted players to play for FC Dallas or the Dallas Burn over the years include Mexican legend Hugo Sánchez, Colombian star David Ferreira, Brazilian World Cup winner Denilson and USA internationals Brek Shea, Jeff Cunningham and Jason Kreis.

Since 2005, FC Dallas' home matches have been played at the FC Dallas Stadium, previously known as Pizza Hut Park for sponsorship reasons. The stadium was built at a cost of around $80 million and the record attendance was set at 22,565 for a match against LA Galaxy in 2012. 

Loading ...