DC United

Founded In
Washington, District of Columbia, USA

About DC United

DC United was founded in 1995. The club, one of the founding members of Major League Soccer, represents Washington DC and has historically been considered one of the more successful franchises in the country. DC United hold the joint record for most MLS Cup wins and have also had the most success of any MLS club on the international stage.

In 2003, DC United made history and generated news headlines around the world by signing US soccer sensation Freddy Adu, who was just 14 years old at the time. In April 2004, Adu made his DC United debut and in doing so, he became the youngest player to compete in any American professional sport since 1887. Later in the same month he became the youngest goal scorer in MLS history. Adu's time at DC United was successful, with the player winning the MLS Cup in 2004, but he would eventually move to Real Salt Lake ahead of the 2007 season.

United have won the MLS Cup on four occasions, in 1996, 1997, 1999 and in 2004 when they beat the Kansas City Wizards who have since been renamed Sporting KC. This remains a record, although LA Galaxy equalled the record with their 2012 triumph. In 1996 and 2008 DC United won the US Open Cup and in 1998 they won the CONCACAF Champions' Cup. Further international success followed with a Copa Interamericana victory over Brazilian club Vasco da Gama in 1998 and a CONCACAF Giants Cup win in 2001. DC United have twice won the MLS Cup and Supporters' Shield double and in 1996 they won the MLS Cup and US Open Cup in the same season.

Aside from Freddy Adu, notable players to play for DC United include record goal scorer Jaime Moreno, John Harkes, Marco Etcheverry, Dwayne De Rosario, Eddie Pope, Ryan Nelson, Christian Gómez and Luciano Emilio.

The club plays its home matches at the Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Stadium. The stadium has a total capacity of 45,423, although DC United usually limit the capacity to 19,467 for MLS games. 

Loading ...