Founded In
Helsinki, Finland

About HJK

Helsingin Jalkapalloklubi, usually known as HJK, was first established in June 1907. Based in Finland's capital city, Helsinki, they are the most popular club in the country and are by far the most successful in terms of major honours won. The football club forms a single department of a wider sporting club, which also competes strongly in ice hockey, bandy and women's football. HJK are nicknamed 'Klubi', which translates simply to 'The Club'.

Historically, the team's biggest local rivals have been HIFK, although other local rivalries have existed with Helsingin Palloseura and FC Kiffen 08. However, all three clubs have fallen down the Finnish league system, causing the derby matches to decrease in importance within the country. As a result, over recent years, HJK's strongest rivalry has been an urban-rural rivalry with FC Haka.

In total, HJK have won the Finnish league championship on 26 occasions; more than any other team. This includes a run of five consecutive titles, which were won in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013. In addition, the side have lifted the Finnish Cup 11 times and the Finnish League Cup on four occasions. As a result of their tremendous success in domestic competitions, the club have represented their country in several continental tournaments, such as the UEFA Champions League and Europa League. In the 1998-99 season, they became the first Finnish side to reach the group stage of the UEFA Champions League.

Due to their status as the country's dominant club, many of Finland's best-known talents have worn the HJK jersey. Some of the most notable examples include Jari Litmanen, Antti Niemi, Mikael Forssell and Shefki Kuqi.

HJK's home matches are held at Sonera Stadium, which is also known as Töölö Stadium and was formerly called Finnair Stadium. The venue opened back in 2000 and is located next to Helsinki Olympic Stadium. It has a two-star rating from UEFA and is currently able to hold 10,770 spectators.

Loading ...