Leicester City

Founded In
Leicester, England

About Leicester City

Leicester City Football Club was founded in 1884 as Leicester Fosse. After the First World War, with Leicester having been granted city status, the club was reformed under its current name. Since entering the Football League, Leicester have spent just one season outside of the top two tiers in the English league pyramid. The club's main rival is generally considered to be Nottingham Forest Football Club.

During the 1920s the club enjoyed a relatively successful period, first under the management of Peter Hodge and then under Willie Orr's leadership. During these years the club won the Division Two title in 1924–25 and finished as runners up in the top tier in 1928–29, missing out on the title by a single point. To this day, it remains their best ever league performance. During the 1960s, the club reached the FA Cup final on three seperate occasions, but failed to win any of them.

In terms of domestic successs, Leicester have a storied history in the League Cup, winning the trophy on three occasions. Their first success came in 1964, during Matt Gillies' reign in charge, with Leicester defeating Stoke City in the final. Some 33 years later, in 1997, Martin O'Neill led his Leicester side to the same trophy, defeating Middlesbrough 1-0 in a replay, after the first match ended in a 1-1 draw. In 2000, O'Neill won his second League Cup trophy and the club's third in total, beating Tranmere Rovers 2-1 in the final.

Throughout its history, Leicester City has been the home to some very high profile players, including international footballers like Peter Shilton, Frank McLintock, Alan Smith and Emile Heskey. The club's record goal scorer is Arthur Chandler. However, the club's best known player is surely Gary Lineker, who won the Golden Boot during his time at the club in 1984-85.

Since 2002 the club has played its home matches at the King Power Stadium, previously known as the Walkers Stadium. The stadium has a capacity of 32,262, which places it inside the top twenty biggest stadiums in the country.


League Cup:
1964, 1997, 2000

FA Charity Shield:

Loading ...