Founded In
Villeneuve-d'Ascq, France

About Lille

LOSC Lille Métropole was founded in September 1944 as Stade Lillois. One of France's best-known teams, Lille's main rivals are RC Lens, with the two sides contesting the Derby du Nord.

The current club was created after a union between former French league clubs SC Fives and Olympique Lillois. Both of those clubs had been founding members of Ligue 1. The newly-formed club adopted the name Lille two months after its formation and after the end of the Second World War, Lille were placed in the top tier of the French league system.

The ten year period running from 1945 to 1955 was by far the most successful in the club's history. During this time, Lille won league titles in 1945–46 and 1953–54. In addition, they won the Coupe de France in 1946, 1947, 1948, 1953 and 1955. To this day, Lille remain one of only two clubs to win the Coupe de France in three consecutive years. Following this golden era, the club suffered relegation from the top flight on several occasions, before establishing themselves a major force once again in the 21st Century. After winning Ligue 2 in 1999-2000, Lille won the Intertoto Cup in 2004. During the 2010–11 season, Lille won Ligue 1 for the first time in over 50 years and added the Coupe de France to complete the league and cup double.

Some of the best-known footballers to wear the Lille shirt over the course of the club's history include names like Cor van der Hart, Joseph Jadrejak, Jean Baratte, Yohan Cabaye, Michel Bastos, Gervinho and Eden Hazard.

In 2012, Lille moved to their new home stadium, Grand Stade Lille Métropole. The ground, built at a cost of over € 300 million, has a total capacity of 50,186. Previously, Lille's home matches had been played at the Stade Grimonprez-Jooris, a 20,000 seater stadium which was demolished in 2010. 

Loading ...