Founded In
Montevideo, Uruguay

About Nacional

Club Nacional de Football, generally known more simply as Nacional, was established in 1899 after a merger between Montevideo Fútbol Club and Uruguay Athletic Club. Originally, the team only fielded native players, which was significant at a time when much of Uruguayan football was dominated by European immigrants. Although their rivals, Peñarol, have won more domestic league titles, in terms of their combined number of domestic and international trophies, Nacional can be said to be the most successful team in the country's history.

Their rivalry with Peñarol can be traced back to 1900 and has become known as the Uruguayan Clásico or the Uruguayan Derby. The two sides have won more than 80% of the league titles contested in the country, meaning that the derby match often has title ramifications. Outside of the United Kingdom, it is one of the oldest rivalries in football.

In terms of domestic honours, the club have won a total of 44 Uruguayan league titles, which is made up of 11 titles in the amateur era and 33 titles since the country's football league turned fully professional. On the international scene, Nacional have won three Copa Libertadores, with those wins coming in 1971, 1980 and 1988. Furthermore, the team won three Intercontinental Cups, two Copa Interamericana trophies and one Recopa Sudamericana.

Atilio García is the club's all-time leading scorer, while Emilio Álvarez holds the record for most appearances. In addition, several of the team's former players have won FIFA World Cups with Uruguay, including Héctor Scarone, José Andrade, Héctor Castro, Aníbal Paz and Eusebio Tejera.

The Estadio Gran Parque Central, also known as El Parque Central, has served as Nacional's home stadium since its opening in 1900. The venue has been renovated several times over the years, with its most recent renovation coming in 2005. As a result, its capacity currently stands at 27,000.

Loading ...