OH Leuven

Founded In
Heverlee, Belgium

About OH Leuven

Oud-Heverlee Leuven, sometimes known as OHL, was founded in 2002 as a result of a merger between three clubs, including Stade Leuven and FC Zwarte Duivels Oud-Heverlee. For the purposes of its registration with the Belgian Football Association, the new club is considered a descendant of Zwarte Duivels Oud-Heverlee and kept their matricule number for that reason.

Beginning life in the Third Division, the club narrowly missed out on promotion in their first season of play, finishing in second place and losing the final of the playoffs to Eendracht Aalst. In 2004-05, they finished second once again. This time, they won their playoff match and gained entry into the Second Division. Upon entering the second tier, Leuven established themselves quickly and finished in third place in their first season in the division.

While the club has been unable to win any major national honours in its short history, the 2010-11 season brought about the team's greatest accomplishment to date. Under the management of Ronny Van Geneugden, they were crowned champions of the Second Division and gained promotion to the First Division as a result. Over the course of the 2011-12 season, Leuven amassed 29 points, which was enough to ensure their safety for another year. In doing so, they became the first club from the city to reach the top flight and stay there for more than one season.

Jordan Remacle and current club captain Kenneth Van Goethem are amongst the most notable players to have played for the club since the merger.

The club's home games are currently played at the Stadion Den Dreef, which first opened in 2002. Since Leuven's promotion to the top flight, the stadium has undergone several renovations in order to cope with the increased number of supporters attending matches. At present, it has a capacity of 9,493.   

Loading ...