Pohang Steelers

Founded In
Pohang, Korea Republic

About Pohang Steelers

Football Club Pohang Steelers was established in 1973 and initially operated under the name POSCO Football Club. They adopted their current name in 1997 and have become one of South Korean football's most successful clubs. In addition to their domestic success, they are recognised as the most successful Asian club in international tournaments.

Having competed for over ten years as an amateur side, the club turned professional in 1984 and achieved success very quickly. The late 1980s marked the team's first golden era, as they claimed K League titles in 1986 and 1988 and finished as runners up in both 1985 and 1987. This success continued in the 1990s, with their third league title coming in 1992, before their fourth major professional honour, the K League Cup, was claimed in 1993.

In total, Pohang have won four K League championships, with their fourth success occurring in 2007. Further domestic success has come in the form of the FA Cup, which they lifted in 1996, 2008 and 2012. A second K League Cup win came in 2009. However, it is on the international scene that the Steelers have truly made their mark. In total, they have won the AFC Champions League three times, with the wins coming in 1997, 1998, 2009. At present, they are the most successful team in the competition's history. In 2005, they were runners up in the A3 Champions Cup, while in 2009, they finished third in the FIFA Club World Cup.

Brazilian striker, Denilson, is one of the club's best-known former players. He was included in the K League best XI in 2009, helped guide the club to that year's AFC Champions League and was also the top scorer in the 2009 FIFA Club World Cup. Other notable former players include Park Tae-Ha, Woo Sung-Yong and Hwang Jae-Won.

The team play home matches at Pohang Steel Yard, which first opened in 1990. It is currently able to hold 25,000 supporters.

Loading ...