Portland Timbers

Founded In
Portland, Oregon, USA

About Portland Timbers

The Portland Timbers were founded in 2009 and made their debut in Major League Soccer in the 2011 season. In doing so, they became the eighteenth MLS side and replaced the old team of the same name. Previously, the Portland Timbers had competed in USL-1 and the current MLS franchise are the fourth soccer team to utilise the name. The Timbers are owned by Peregrine Sports and Merritt Paulson serves as the club's President.

The club's main rivals are Seattle Sounders FC and the rivalry between the two cities pre-dates the MLS era. The two teams are involved in a three-way series which also includes the Vancouver Whitecaps. The winner of the head-to-head matches between the three sides over the course of the season is awarded the Cascadia Cup.

Portland's short history means that the club has no real history of major success in Major League Soccer. In their first season, the club finished 6th in the Western Conference and also earned the MLS Fair Play Award. In 2012, the team was unable to build upon the previous season and finished 8th in the Western Conference. However, despite struggling for much of the campaign, Portland did manage to win the Cascadia Cup, emerging with three wins, a draw and two defeats in the head-to-head with Vancouver and Seattle.

Notable players to represent the club in its short history so far include Scotland international Kris Boyd, USA international Kenny Cooper and Argentine midfielder Diego Valeri.

Home matches are currently hosted at Jeld-Wen Field, which served as the home stadium of the previous Portland Timbers clubs. The stadium recently underwent renovations to get it ready for use as an MLS stadium. The work on the stadium brought its operational capacity up to 20,438, although this can potentially be expanded to around 22,000 for more important matches. 

Loading ...