Rapid Wien

Founded In
Wien, Austria

About Rapid Wien

Sportklub Rapid Wien, often known as Rapid Vienna in English-speaking countries, was founded in 1898 under the name Erster Wiener Arbeiter-Fußball-Club, which translates to 'First Viennese Workers' Football Club'. They are the most widely-supported team in Austrian football and are also the most successful Austrian club in terms of league title wins. Their biggest rivals are Austria Wien, with whom they compete in the Wien Derby. It is one of the most-played derby matches in European football and was traditionally seen as the city's working class (Rapid Wien) vs. the city's middle class (Austria Wien).

After the annexation of Austria by Germany, between 1938 and 1945, Rapid Wien competed as part of the German league system. During this time, they lifted the German Cup in 1938 and the German league title in 1941. As a result, they are able to claim major honours in both Germany and Austria.

In total, the club have been crowned Austrian champions 32 times; more than any other side in the country. Their most recent title win came at the conclusion of the 2007–08 season. Additionally, they have won the Austrian Cup on 14 occasions and the Austrian Supercup four times. Furthermore, Rapid Wien have enjoyed some success on the continental stage, winning the Intertoto Cup in 1992 and 1993 and reaching the final of the UEFA Cup Winners' Cup in both 1985 and 1996.

Some of the most notable Rapid Wien players throughout history include prolific goalscorers like Franz Binder, Robert Dienst and Hans Krankl; the club's record appearance maker, Peter Schöttel, and the current club captain, Steffen Hofmann.

The team's home matches are played at the Gerhard Hanappi Stadium, which is named after another of the club's former players and the venue's architect. Built in 1977, the stadium was previously known as the Weststadion and is nicknamed Sankt Hanappi by the club's supporters. It is currently able to hold 18,500 spectators.

Loading ...