Seattle Sounders

Founded In
Renton, Washington, USA

About Seattle Sounders

Formed in 2007 as an MLS expansion club, Seattle Sounders FC became Major League Soccer's fifteenth team when they made their debut in the 2009 season. The team is owned by Joe Roth, Drew Carey, Paul Allen and Adrian Hanauer, with Roth serving as the majority owner. Despite the team's short history to date, it has already gone on to achieve significant success domestically.

The team's name was decided by a fan poll. Seattle Sounders had been the name of a previous club which competed in the United Soccer Leagues First Division. Originally, the name Seattle Sounders was not given as one of the options on the poll, but outcry from supporters forced the owners to reconsider and allow people to suggest their own name. Almost half of all fans voted for some variation of 'Seattle Sounders' and eventually the owners decided it was important to continue the traditions of the former USL-1 team.

The team took little time in beginning their trophy haul, winning the U.S. Open Cup in their first season, defeating D.C. United in the final. The following year, Seattle Sounders FC became the first team of the MLS era to successfully defend the U.S. Open Cup and in 2011 they won the cup for a third successive time. The 2011 season also saw Seattle finish as runners up in the MLS Supporters' Shield.

USA striker Eddie Johnson is one of the club's best-known players. Former Argentina international midfielder Mauro Rosales serves as the club's captain, while Christian Tiffert and Fredy Montero are both currently signed to designated player contracts.

Seattle Sounders FC home matches are held at CenturyLink Field, formerly known as Seahawks Stadium. The ground has a capacity of 38,500 for regular MLS matches, although this can be expanded to 67,000 for special matches, if necessary. 

Loading ...