Founded In
Stuttgart, Germany

About Stuttgart

Verein für Bewegungsspiele Stuttgart 1893, more commonly known as Vfb Stuttgart, was formed in 1893. The football club is part of a wider sports club, which also competes in hockey and table tennis competitions.

After many years of competing in regional competitions, Vfb Stuttgart rose to success in the 1950s, winning national league titles in 1950 and 1952. In 1954 they beat FC Köln 1-0 in the final of the DFB Cup and added another cup to their trophy haul in 1958. As a result of their consistent performances throughout the decade, Stuttgart were a part of the inaugural Bundesliga season, which started in 1963. Since the formation of the Bundesliga, the club has missed only two seasons of top flight football, in 1975-76 and 1976–77, after the club was relegated. After returning to the top flight, Stuttgart finished as runners up in 1979 and won the Bundesliga for the first time in 1984. They reached the UEFA Cup final in 1989 and won the Bundesliga for the second time in 1992.

In the early part of the 21st century, Stuttgart built a team of exciting young players, who earned the nickname "Junge Wilde", which translates to "wild young ones." The players, who included Alexander Hleb, Philipp Lahm and Kevin Kurányi, brought a brand of attacking football to the club, which delighted their fans and drew plaudits from neutrals. The players led Stuttgart to a 2nd place finish in 2002-03, enabling the team to qualify for the Champions League. Despite those three players leaving, in 2006–07 Stuttgart went one better, finishing two points ahead of Schalke to win the Bundesliga once again.

Legendary players to play for Stuttgart over the years include names such as Robert Schlienz, Ottmar Hitzfeld, Hansi Müller, Jürgen Klinsmann and Mario Gómez.

The club has played home matches at the Mercedes-Benz Arena, formerly known as Neckarstadion, since 1933. The ground currently has a capacity of 60,441 for league games. 

Loading ...