Founded In
Ulsan, Korea Republic

About Ulsan

The Ulsan Hyundai Football Club was first established in 1983 and entered the K League ahead of the 1984 season. Originally based in Incheon and known as Hyundai Horang-i FC, the team relocated to Ulsan and adopted its current name in the early 1990s. Since that time, they have been successful in both domestic and international competitions. The club remain under the ownership of Hyundai Heavy Industries and are nicknamed 'The Tigers'.

In 1986, the club were runners up in the K League and also won the Korea Professional Championship, a predecessor to the K League Cup. However, it was not until the mid 1990s that the club experienced consistent success, starting with a K League Cup success in 1995. In 1996, Ulsan were crowned K League champions for the first time, while in 1998, they achieved a K League Cup and FA Cup double.

Since the turn of the 21st century, the team have continued to enjoy success. After finishing as K League runners up in 2002 and 2003, the club became champions for the second time in 2005. In 2006, they won the Korean Super Cup and also experienced their first taste of international glory, lifting the A3 Champions Cup. The 2007 and 2011 seasons saw the side win the K League Cup again, taking their total number of successes in the competition up to four. Then, in 2012, Ulsan won the AFC Champions League, beating Al-Ahli from Saudi Arabia in the tournament's final. As a result, they gained entry to the 2012 FIFA Club World Cup.

The list of the side's notable former footballers includes names like Choi Young-Il, Yoo Sang-Chul, Kim Byung-Ji and Lee Chun-Soo. All four players were also regulars for the South Korean national team.

Ulsan play their home matches at Ulsan Munsu Football Stadium, which is sometimes known as Big Crown Stadium. The venue opened in 2001 and is able to hold up to 44,102 spectators.

Loading ...