Harry Kane is the ONLY Englishman in List of World’s 55 Top Players: See Who Got In…

  • Harry Kane is the lone Englishman after Jamie Vardy drops off the list.
  • The list includes 13 Real Madrid players.
  • Over 25,000 pros voted to make up the Fifa FIFPro World XI.

So much for England inventing the game of football – the rest of the world owns it now!

Pro footballers themselves have voted just ONE England star into the world’s top-55.

That honour goes to Spurs striker Harry Kane. The only other English contender, Leicester’s Jamie Vardy, dropped out having been in last year’s edition.

Over 25,000 pros voted to find the Fifa FIFPro World XI, with 13 of the 55 players coming from Real Madrid.

Along with Cristiano Ronaldo and Gareth Bale, Keylor Navas, Dani Carvajal, Marcelo, Pepe – now at Besiktas – Sergio Ramos, Raphael Varane, Casemiro, Isco, Toni Kroos, Luka Modric and Karim Benzema all make the grade.

Here’s the full list:

Gianluigi Buffon – Italy, Juventus
David de Gea – Spain, Manchester United
Keylor Navas – Costa Rica, Real Madrid
Manuel Neuer – Germany, FC Bayern München
Jan Oblak – Slovenia, Atlético Madrid

David Alaba – Austria, FC Bayern München
Jordi Alba – Spain, FC Barcelona
Dani Alves – Brazil, Juventus/Paris Saint-Germain
Jérôme Boateng – Germany, FC Bayern München
Leonardo Bonucci – Italy, Juventus/AC Milan
Dani Carvajal – Spain, Real Madrid
Giorgio Chiellini – Italy, Juventus
Diego Godín – Uruguay, Atlético Madrid
Mats Hummels – Germany, FC Bayern München
Phillipp Lahm – Germany, FC Bayern München/retired
David Luiz – Brazil, Chelsea FC
Marcelo – Brazil, Real Madrid
Javier Mascherano – Argentina, FC Barcelona
Pepe – Portugal, Real Madrid/Besiktaş
Gerard Piqué – Spain, FC Barcelona
Sergio Ramos – Spain, Real Madrid
Thiago Silva – Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain
Samuel Umtiti – France, FC Barcelona
Antonio Valencia – Ecuador, Manchester United
Raphaël Varane – France, Real Madrid

Thiago Alcântara – Spain, FC Bayern München
Sergio Busquets – Spain, FC Barcelona
Casemiro – Brazil, Real Madrid
Philippe Coutinho – Brazil, Liverpool FC
Eden Hazard – Belgium, Chelsea FC
Andrés Iniesta – Spain, FC Barcelona
Isco – Spain, Real Madrid
N’Golo Kanté – France, Chelsea FC
Toni Kroos – Germany, Real Madrid
Nemanja Matić – Serbia, Chelsea/Manchester United
Luka Modrić – Croatia, Real Madrid
Mesut Özil – Germany, Arsenal FC
Paul Pogba – France, Manchester United
Marco Verratti – Italy, Paris Saint-Germain
Arturo Vidal – Chile, FC Bayern München

Gareth Bale – Wales, Real Madrid
Karim Benzema – France, Real Madrid
Edinson Cavani – Uruguay, Paris Saint-Germain
Paulo Dybala – Argentina, Juventus
Antoine Griezmann – France, Atlético Madrid
Zlatan Ibrahimović – Sweden, Manchester United
Harry Kane – England, Tottenham Hotspur
Robert Lewandowski – Poland, FC Bayern München
Romelu Lukaku – Belgium, Everton/Manchester United
Kylian Mbappé – France, AS Monaco/Paris Saint-Germain
Lionel Messi – Argentina, FC Barcelona
Neymar JR – Brazil, Barcelona/Paris Saint-Germain
Cristiano Ronaldo – Portugal, Real Madrid
Alexis Sánchez – Chile, Arsenal FC
Luis Suárez – Uruguay, FC Barcelona2017 W11 640Real Madrid’s current players on the list of 55


  • 13 men played for Real Madrid last season, which is a record. The Spanish club held the previous record of twelve players, set in 2014 and 2015. One player left the Spanish club during summer: Pepe is now playing for Besiktas;
  • 9 players make their first appearance on the list of 55: Jan Oblak, Samuel Umtiti, Antonio Valencia, Casemiro, Philippe Coutinho, Nemanja Matic, Harry Kane, Romelo Lukaku and Kylian Mbappé;
  • 3 players return in this selection after missing out last year: Thiago Alcantara, Isco and Edinson Cavani;
  • 12 players from last year’s list dropped out: Claudio Bravo, Serge Aurier, Hector Bellerin, Xabi Alonso, Kevin De Bruyne, Dimitri Payet, Ivan Rakitic, David Silva, Sergio Agüero, Gonzalo Higuain, Thomas Müller, Jamie Vardy;
  • Of these 12, Xabi Alonso is the only former World 11 award winner (2011 and 2012). The Spaniard recently retired from professional football;
  • Two players have been on every list of 55 since the first World 11 in 2004-2005: Gianluigi Buffon and Cristiano Ronaldo;
  • No African or Asian player received enough votes to make the cut;
  • The 55 players have 20 different nationalities. Nine of them are Spanish, Brazil and France both have 7 players;
  • The 55 players were under contract at 9 clubs: Real Madrid, Barcelona, Bayern München, Manchester United, Paris Saint-Germain, Juventus, Atlético Madrid, Chelsea, Arsenal and Liverpool;
  • Philipp Lahm is the only player on the list who retired after last season;
  • FIFPro and FIFA changed the format of the poll. Previously it covered performances over a calendar year, but now it is aligned with the majority of competitions which run from August to June;
  • This is the 13th edition of the World 11. The award was established by FIFPro, the World Players’ Union, in 2005, and later merged with FIFA in 2009.



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.